Those Who Have Guided the Cincinnati Police since Cincinnati's Incorporation as a City

MARSHALS	ELECTED	TENURE OF OFFICE
Samuel R. Miller	1819	2 years
John C. Avery	1821	3 years
William C. Anderson	1824	1 year
Joseph Martin	1825	1 week
William C. Anderson	1825	1 year
Zebulon Byington	1826	3 years
William Doty	1829	4 years
Jesse Justice	1833	2 years
James Saffin	1835	12 years
Ebenezer Hulse	1847	2 years
James L. Ruffin	1849	6 years
CHIEFS OF POLICE	APPOINTED	
Jacob Wiefer	1952	1
Jacob Kiefer Thomas Looken	1853 1853	1 month 8 months
David Hoke	1855	•
		1 year 3 months
Edward Hopkins James L. Ruffin	1855	2 years
Lewis Wilson	1857 1859	2 years
		2 years 1 year 10 months
J. W. Dudley Lawrence M. Hazen	1861 1862	1 year 10 months 2 months
James L. Ruffin		
	1863	4 years
Robert Megrue James L. Ruffin	1867 1868	1 year 2months
David M. Bleaks	1808	3 years 1 year 10 months
David IVI. Dieaks	1871	i year 10 months
SUPERINTENDENTS OF POLIC	E	
Joseph Kiersted	1873	1 year 10 months
Thomas E. Snelbaker	1875	1 year 3 months
Ira Woods	1876	1 year 8 months
George W. Ziegler	1878	2 years
Charles Wappenstein	1880	2 months
Enoch T. Carson	1880	1 year 7 months
Jacob Gessert	1881	1 month (approx.)
M. F. Reilley	1881	3 years 2 months
Edwin Hudson	1885	1 years
Arthur G. Moore	1886	2 months
Phillip P. Deitsch	1886	16 years 7 months
CHEIFS OF POLICE		
Paul M. Milliken	1903	7 years 6 months
William H. Jackson	1910	1 year 4 months
William Copelan	1910	22 years 8 months
Eugene T. Weatherly	1935	15 years 1 month
Stanley R. Schrotel	1951	15 years 6 months
Jacob W. Schott	1967	3 years 10 months
Carl V. Goodin	1971	5 years 5 months
Myron J. Leistler	1976	8 years 5 months
Lawrence E. Whalen	1985	7 years 2 months
Michael C. Snowden	1992	5 years 11 months
Thomas H. Streicher, Jr.	1999	12 years 3 weeks
James E. Craig	2011	1 year 11 months
Jeffrey C. Blackwell	2013	1 year 11 months
-		-

## NOTES ON CHIEFS

Between 1853 and 1873 (20 years), there were 12 changes in Chief's of Police, the longest term being 4 years.

Between 1912 and 1967 (55 years) there were only 3 Chiefs: William Copelan, Eugene Weatherly, and Stanley Schrotel.)

One man, James Ruffin, held the top position on four separate occasions, once as City Marshal, and three times as the Chief of Police. This occurred between 1849 and 1871. His total tenure was 15 years.

William Anderson was the City Marshal twice. His two terms were interrupted by another man for one week!

The longest tenured was William Copelan who held the office of Police Chief for almost 23 years. His total career with the City was over 47 years!

Six men held the top position in the police department for 2 months or less.

The most common name for a chief is William (4). Second is a tie between Thomas (3), and James (3).

© 2015 Greater Cincinnati Police Historical Society, Inc. and Thomas Waller